Emil Zbinden (1908 – 1991) was a Swiss artist. From 1928-31 he lived in Berlin and studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Leipzig.

The foreseeable seizure of power by the National Socialists and the resulting political climate forced him to return to Bern. Starting in 1936, he created over 900 illustrations and typographies for the sixteen volumes of Jeremias Gotthelf's work published by Büchergilde Gutenberg, a book community in the tradition of the German labour movement. These delicate images from the Emmental peasant life and landscape promoted Zbinden's reputation as an outstanding wood engraver. They form the backbone of his work to this day.

Parallel to the work commissioned by Büchergilde Gutenberg, Zbinden – a trained typesetter – created a diverse work on paper as a freelance artist. In addition to prints, this primarily comprises drawings, but also watercolours and tempera paintings.

In 2008-2009 Museum of Fine Arts Bern (Switzerland) and Museum of Fine Arts Leipzig (Germany) presented the artist's first comprehensive retrospective.

Since 2012 Zbinden's graphic prints archive has been kept by the Prints and Drawings Departement of the Swiss National Library. You can browse through the online catalogue of Emil Zbinden's prints here.

Further biographical information: SIKART Lexicon on art in Switzerland and Wikipedia.

Detailed biography: 

Archive and copyright of works:

Karl and Katharina Zbinden-Bärtschi, Garbenweg 3, CH-3027 Bern

info@emilzbinden.ch

Last updated: May 19th 2019

Emil Zbinden (1908 – 1991) war ein Schweizer Künstler. Er lebte in den 1930er-Jahren in Berlin und studierte an der Akademie für graphische Künste in Leipzig.

 

Die absehbare Machtübernahme der Nationalsozialisten und das sich daraus ergebende politische Klima zwangen ihn zur Rückkehr nach Bern. Hier schuf er ab 1936 über 900 Illustrationen und Typografien für die von der Büchergilde Gutenberg herausgegebenen sechzehn Bände des Werks von Jeremias Gotthelf. Diese filigran umgesetzten Bilder aus der bäuerlichen und kleinstädtischen Welt förderten den Ruf Zbindens als hervorragenden Holzstecher und bilden bis heute das Rückgrat seines Werks.

 

Parallel zu den Auftragsarbeiten für die Büchergilde Gutenberg erarbeitete der gelernte Schriftsetzer ein vielgestaltiges freies Werk auf Papier. Dieses umfasst neben Druckblättern in erster Linie Zeichnungen, aber auch Aquarelle und Temperamalerei.

Im Jahr 2008 zeigten das Kunstmuseum Bern und das Museum der Bildenden Künste in Leipzig die erste umfassende Retrospektive des Künstlers.

Zbindens druckgraphisches Archiv wird seit 2012 von der Graphischen Sammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek aufbewahrt. Der Katalog der Druckgrafiken von Emil Zbinden ist in der Datenbank Helvetic Archives einsehbar. Mehr erfahren

Weiterführende biographische Angaben zu Emil Zbinden gibt es hier: SIKART Lexikon zur Kunst in der Schweiz und Wikipedia.

 

Ausführliche Biographie:

Nachlassbetreuung und Copyright der Werke:

Karl und Katharina Zbinden-Bärtschi, Garbenweg 3, CH-3027 Bern

info@emilzbinden.ch

Letzte Aktualisierung: 15. Oktober 2019